Qualification details

PSP51912 - Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) (Release 1)


Usage recommendation:
The Deleted usage recommendation was implemented on 13 June 2017 to describe training components that have no replacement. Enrolments in training components and statements of attainment or qualifications issued before 13 June 2017 are valid. For any components marked as deleted after 13 June 2017, the applicable transition/teach-out periods apply. For specific questions regarding the enrolment, delivery or issuance of a statement of attainment/qualification, please contact your training regulator.
DeletedDeleted from PSP12 Public Sector Training Package06/Mar/2016
Supersedes and is equivalent to PSP51904 - Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection)New release of PSP5190431/Oct/2012

Release Status:
ReleaseRelease date
1 1 (this release) 01/Nov/2012

Units of competency

CodeSort Table listing Units of Competency by the Code columnTitleSort Table listing Units of Competency by the Title columnEssentialSort Table listing Units of Competency by the Essential column
PSPGOV511A - Provide leadershipProvide leadershipElective
PSPETHC501B - Promote the values and ethos of public servicePromote the values and ethos of public serviceCore
PSPWPI501B - Evaluate workplace legislative complianceEvaluate workplace legislative complianceCore
PSPGOV503B - Coordinate resource allocation and usageCoordinate resource allocation and usageElective
PSPGOV504B - Undertake research and analysisUndertake research and analysisElective
PSPGOV505A - Promote diversityPromote diversityElective
PSPGOV507A - Undertake negotiationsUndertake negotiationsElective
PSPMNGT608B - Manage riskManage riskCore
PSPGOV502B - Develop client servicesDevelop client servicesElective
PSPWPI502B - Facilitate improvement in workplace legislative performanceFacilitate improvement in workplace legislative performanceCore
Items per page 10 | 20 | 50 | 100
Displaying items 1 - 10 of 14


SchemeCodeClassification value
ANZSCO Identifier 312611 Safety Inspector 
ASCO (occupation type) Identifier 3992-11 Safety Inspector 
ASCED Qualification/Course Field of Education Identifier 0803 Business And Management 
Qualification/Course Level of Education Identifier 421 Diploma 
Taxonomy - Industry Sector N/A Occupational Health & Safety 
Taxonomy - Occupation N/A WorkCover Inspector,Injury Management Case Manager,Occupational Health and Safety Manager (Public Sector) 

Classification history

SchemeCodeClassification valueStart dateEnd date
ANZSCO Identifier 312611 Safety Inspector 20/Feb/2013 
ASCO (occupation type) Identifier 3992-11 Safety Inspector 20/Feb/2013 
ASCED Qualification/Course Field of Education Identifier 0803 Business And Management 20/Feb/2013 
Qualification/Course Level of Education Identifier 421 Diploma 01/Nov/2012 
The content being displayed has been produced by a third party, while all attempts have been made to make this content as accessible as possible it cannot be guaranteed. If you are encountering issues following the content on this page please consider downloading the content in its original form

Modification History


TP Version 



PSP12 V1

First release. Supersedes and equivalent to PSP51904


This specialist qualification covers the competencies required by those responsible for the conduct of statutory investigation and enforcement of legislative requirements under workplace occupational health and safety legislation, and/or workers compensation legislation, and/or injury management legislation, and/or workplace relations legislation. It has been specifically tailored to meet the needs of workplace inspectors/field officers or officers acting under the authority of this legislation and is also applicable to anyone in the public sector undertaking the function of workplace inspection.

Pathways Information

Not applicable.

Licensing/Regulatory Information

Not applicable.

Entry Requirements

Not applicable.

Employability Skills Summary

Not applicable.

Packaging Rules

11 units of competency are required for this qualification:

  • 7 core units
  • 4 elective units

Choose 4 elective units from those elective units listed below.

Alternatively, 2 of the 4 electives may be chosen from elsewhere within this Training Package, or  another endorsed Training Package or  Accredited Course.

Units selected should not duplicate content already covered by units in this qualification. 

All elective units must be selected from an equivalent qualification level or higher, unless otherwise stated.

** For this qualification, a maximum of 1 unit from Diploma level may be used.

Core Units 


Promote the values and ethos of public service


Promote compliance with legislation in the public sector


Use complex workplace communication strategies


Manage Risk


Evaluate workplace legislative compliance


Facilitate improvement in workplace legislative performance


Investigate possible breaches of workplace legislation

Elective units 


Develop client services


Coordinate resource allocation and usage


Undertake research and analysis


Promote diversity


Undertake negotiations


Manage conflict


Provide leadership